Close this search box.

Awutu Senya West Assembly members reject President’s nominee

Assembly Members for the Awutu Senya West District have rejected the President’s nominee, Mr Moses Arhinful Acquah, as the District Chief Executive (DCE).

Out of the 35 total votes cast, he secured 19 yes votes, 15 no votes with one spoilt ballot.

Per the local governance act, the nominee was expected to secure 24 votes representing two- thirds of the total votes cast and that a re-election had been scheduled to take place in 10 days.

Central Regional Minister, Mrs Justina Marigold Assan, speaking after the exercise said the ultimate responsibility of the Assembly was to ensure the district developed and that required that committees and sub-committees were formed to commence the developmental agenda of the communities.

She therefore urged the members to bury their differences and consider the development of the Assembly, paramount.

In an interview with Mr Richard Ghartey, Presiding Member of the District Assembly, he expressed disappointment in the results of the elections and reiterated calls to make t
he progress of the area top on the agenda.

Source: Ghana News Agency